Padma Awards were instituted in the year 1954. Except for brief interruption(s) during the years 1977 and 1980 and 1993 to 1997, these awards have been announced every year on Republic Day. The award is given in three categories, namely, Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri.

• Padma Shri is awarded for ‘distinguished service’.

• Padma Bhushan for ‘distinguished service of a high order’.

• Padma Vibhushan for ‘exceptional and distinguished service'.

The award seeks to recognize work of any distinction and is given for distinguished and exceptional achievements/service in all fields of activities/disciplines, such as Art, Literature and Education, Sports, Medicine, Social Work, Science and Engineering, Public Affairs, Civil Service, Trade and Industry etc. All persons without distinction of race, occupation, position or sex are eligible for these awards.

The award is normally not conferred posthumously. However, in highly deserving cases, the Government could consider giving an award posthumously if the demise of the person proposed to be honoured has been recent, say within a period of one year preceding the Republic Day on which it is proposed to announce the award.

A higher category of Padma award can be conferred on a person only where a period of at least five years has elapsed since conferment of the earlier Padma award. However, in highly deserving cases, a relaxation can be made by the Awards Committee.

  • Padma Vibhushan — Second degree honour.
  • Padma Bhushan — Third degree honour.
  • Padma Shri — Fourth degree honour.

However, there are often complaints that these awards are given to entertainers, businessmen, film stars, cricketers and influential persons while the entire community of common persons have got nothing, according to Shri Sharad Yadav (Janata Dal President).

Padma Shri (also Padmashree) is the fourth highest civilian award in the Republic of India, after the Bharat Ratna, the Padma Vibhushan and the Padma Bhushan. Awarded by the Government of India

Padma Bhushan:

2007Captain L.Z. SailoLiterature & Education

Padma Shri:

1983Shri Anselm SawihliraCivil Service
1985Shri Jamesh DokhumaLiterature and Education
1986Smt. Nuchhungi RenthleiLiterature and Education
1987Shri HrangaiaSocial Work
1987Smt. Khawl KungiLiterature and Education
1988Shri Jadeng BuanaSocial Work
1991Shri R.K. LelhlunaLiterature and Education
1992Shri Chuauhang RokhumaSocial Work
1998Shri Ralte VanlawmaSocial Work
1998Brigadier Thenphunga SailoSocial Work
2000Shri Pahlira Sena ChawngthuLiterature and Education
2002Dr. Harshel Sawi LuaiaSocial Work
2003Dr. Chawngthu LalhminglianaSocial Work
2005Prof. DarchhawnaLiterature and Education
2005Rev. LalsawmaSocial Work
2006Dr. Laltluangliana KhiangteLiterature and Education
2009Shri Lalthangfala SailoLiterature and Education
2010Lalzuia ColneyLiterature and Education
2011Buangi SailoLiterature and Education
2012Ralte L. ThanmawiaLiterature and Education
2013J.MalsawmaLiterature and Education